You call me out upon the waters

by codydejardin

I recently discovered, today actually, Hillsong United’s new album Zion. I spent the morning listening to each song. I caught myself in the midst of the song “Oceans” and replayed the song over and over. This song spoke to me. Below are the lyrics:

You call me out upon the waters
The great unknown where feet may fail
And there I find You in the mystery
In oceans deep my faith will stand

I will call upon Your Name
And keep my eyes above the waves
When oceans rise
My soul will rest in Your embrace
For I am Yours and You are mine

Your grace abounds in deepest waters
Your sovereign hand will be my guide
Where feet may fail and fear surrounds me
You’ve never failed and You won’t start now

Spirit lead me where my trust is without borders
Let me walk upon the waters
Wherever You would call me

Take me deeper than my feet could ever wander
And my faith will be made stronger
In the presence of my Savior

I will call upon Your Name
Keep my eyes above the waves
My soul will rest in Your embrace
I am Yours and You are mine

This is our God, Yahweh, the God above all whose love pursues us constantly. It’s a love that comes after us, finds us where we are, and walks with us. How crazy is it that our God, the God that created every good and perfect thing, longs for us. He invites us to walk with Him, to carry out His name and live in the “goodness” in which He intends for us all. David tells us that “Surely your goodness and love will follow me all the days of my life.” (Psalm 23) Do I believe that? Do I really believe that?

This love is a much larger concept then what we as humans have perverted it to be. Sadly, I think it is impossible to fully understand this love. The word love used 250 times in the old Testament is the Hebrew word “heced.” There is no easy way to translate this word into our English language. What we can conclude though is that heced is given with no expectation of a returned love or given even when one does not deserve it.

That is our God. That love is essential to His character. It is giving, serving, merciful, forgiving, compassionate, gracious. We hear all the time that “God is love” but do we believe it? If our answer is yes then shouldn’t we be living with the trust that is mentioned in the song above. Shouldn’t our faith reflect the knowledge that our God loves us?

You call me out upon the waters
The great unknown where feet may fail

God is calling us to something greater. Something difficult. Something dangerous. Something we cannot accomplish on our own. Something unknown. Do we trust him to walk out in to the unknown, where we could fall? Do we have faith in our Father who loves us? Do we believe that He has plans to prosper us and not to harm us, plans to give us hope and a future (Jeremiah 29:11) Are we okay with being uncomfortable and running after something we are being called into?

I say yes. Jesus came so that we may have life, and have it to the full. (John 10:10) I want to find what He has for me.

And there I find You in the mystery
In oceans deep my faith will stand

We find God in the most dangerous parts of life. He meets us there, where He calls us. Let Him guide you. Let His sovereign hand be your guide. Trust that our Father loves us much more than we will ever be able to comprehend.

That love leaves me with an incredible sense of joy. I have God on my side. I am His, and He is mine. I would rather live here on earth in struggle, hardship, pain, and in the unknown, alive in His presence than in any happiness without Him.

I have tasted you here God, I will draw near to you. Surely your goodness and mercy will follow me all the days of my life and i will dwell in the house of God forever.

Take this song as a prayer. Listen to it, pray it, believe that God is who He says he is. Walk out and take that step of faith.

Image

I took this photo when I studied abroad in Costa Rica. Every time my toes touch the waters of an ocean I will remember:

Your grace abounds in deepest waters
Your sovereign hand will be my guide
Where feet may fail and fear surrounds me
You’ve never failed and You won’t start now

